And the winners are…

Winners in five categories took center stage on Saturday, April 7, 2018 when the Consortium for Public Education hosted its annual Champions of Learning Awards

celebration and presented a Special Tribute to Sarah Tambucci, Ph.D, recently retired Director of the Arts Education Collaborative.

Don Marinelli, Director of Innovation at 535 Media/Inven Global, emceed the event at the Pittsburgh Marriott City Center. 2018 Champions & Be There Winners

“We had an outstanding group of finalists,” said the Consortium’s Executive Director Mary Kay Babyak. “Every year, I am so impressed at the way community organizations, businesses, educators and volunteers work together to create such rich and varied learning experiences for kids in our region.”

Sharing in the celebration, United Way of Southwestern Pennsylvania presented its “Be There” awards in three categories for individuals who go above and beyond to support youth in Allegheny County.

The Consortium presented awards in the Arts; Business Partnerships; Classroom Teaching; Community Outreach; and Leadership. Additionally, a special tribute to Dr. Tambucci recognized her accomplishments over a 50-year career as an educator with a passion for the arts. United Way presented awards for School Staff, Providers and Volunteers. Finalists and winners in all categories are listed here. See photo below.

A gala Saturday night brought our Champions of Learning Awards and United Way of Southwestern Pennsylvania’s Be There Awards to a close for 2018, with Champions named in five categories and Be There winners in thre. From left, the winners or those accepting on their behalf are: Michele de la Reza, founder of Attack Theatre, which won the Champions award for the Arts; Dennis Jones, who accepted the Champions award for Community Outreach on behalf of Youth Enrichment Services; Corina Bonsall, an instructor at Steel Center for Career and Technical Education who won the Champions award for Teaching; Michael Gupp, a Sto-Rox School District teacher who took the Be There award in the School Staff category; Janet Toth (back row) one of three individuals appearing on behalf of DMI Companies, which won the Champions award for Business Partnerships; Katie Hager (back) also with DMI; Jeimy Ibarra (foreground) who won the Be There award for Providers; Neil Williams (foreground), a Be There winner in the Volunteers category; Donald Adams of DMI (back); Bart Rocco, who won the Champions award for Leadership and Sarah Tambucci, who received the Champions Special Tribute this year.